Syncing Folders in the VizSeek Desktop App


Add a folder to sync

(For file companies not using categories)

In the Home page, under the Add a searchable resource menu, click the Folder icon to add a local or network location to sync from.

In the Browse for folder window, find the top-most folder that you would like to sync. The app will sync all the sub-folders in that folder as well, and it will maintain the folder structure that is in your file location.

Select the folder and click OK. The app will add the folder path to the Resource list and begin an immediate sync. You can right-click and click Stop Sync if you’re not ready to sync yet.

Repeat this process for all the folders you would like to sync.


Add folders and files to sync

(For file companies using categories)

In the Home page, under the Add a searchable resource menu, click the document icon to add a CSV file to sync from. The Data Source Field Mapping window opens.

Create the Field Mapping

  1. Give your mapping a name in the Resource Name field. This is for informational purposes only and just helps you to be organized when you have multiple mappings.
  2. Click the Add CSV File button and browse to the CSV file. This CSV file should have a column with the paths of the of folders and/or files you wish to sync, and a column with the name of a category (or multiple columns for multiple category levels) that will apply to that folder or file. The app will also sync all sub-folders as well, and it will maintain the folder structure that is in your file location.

    When you add the file, you'll see the following:
    Mapping window: The mapping window opens in the middle section of the window. This is where you'll map your file's fields to VizSeek's fields.
    Mapped fields tab: This section shows the fields that have been mapped so far, showing the VizSeek field labels with the mapped values from your file. Check this section as you map your fields to make sure that your mapping is retrieving the values you want.
    Original file tab: This section shows your file columns and values. You can use this tab as a way to see your file columns and values without having to open your file in a different program.

  3. Map your file's fields to the VizSeek fields. In the mapping window, your file's fields appear in the first column. Select the VizSeek field to map to using the dropdown button.
  4. When you've finished mapping your fields, click the Save button. The mapping is added to the Resource list and is ready to be synced. To begin syncing, you can right-click and click Sync.

Editing a Field Mapping

To make changes in your CSV field mapping, right-click the mapping in the Resource list on the Home page and click Edit. You'll then be able to change your mapping and save it.


It’s important to note that synced folders are always just reflections of what is in your file system or network location. Synced folders are not editable from VizSeek. You cannot change any folder or file names in VizSeek or move files around in VizSeek. You cannot delete files from a folder in VizSeek. In other words, if you delete a file from its folder in your file system and then perform a sync, that change will be reflected in VizSeek. But you do not have the ability to delete a file from VizSeek.

When stopping a sync, any files and/or folders that were already added are now available in the VizSeek Web application. Starting the sync after it was stopped will resume adding the remainder of the resources that weren’t already added before the stop sync.

Removing a resource

When you no longer want to sync from a resource, right-click it and click Remove. The corresponding files will be removed from your VizSeek Enterprise account. Resources that were stopped may also be removed in this manner.

Start a sync

To start syncing a single resource, right-click the resource and click Sync.

To start syncing all your resources, click Sync in the menu bar and click All.

Stop a sync

When a sync process is in progress, you can stop it in one of two ways:

  • Right-click the row for the resource that you want to stop syncing, and click Stop Sync.
  • In the menu bar, click Sync, and click Stop Sync All.

When stopping a sync, any files and/or folders that were already added will be available in the VizSeek Web application. If you start the sync again after it was stopped, the app will resume adding the remainder of the resources that weren’t already added before the stop sync.

View the sync log

A log file is available so that you can see what files were synced and at what time. To view the sync log, click View in the menu bar and click Sync Log. The log file will open in a separate text application, such as Notepad.